subject
FIAF 2019
SYMPOSIUM

FROM THE PAST TO THE FUTURE OF FILM ARCHIVES
Call for paper


Film archives are currently in a phase of transition, due in particular to the use of digital technologies at every level of their activity. The generalization of new techniques for restoring works, and new ways of distributing, promoting, cataloging, and managing these objects has important repercussions for the work of archivists in every field. This transformation is so important that it may eventually affect the very mission of film archives and the form they take.

This symposium will be an opportunity to discuss together the central questions posed by this transition, placing it in a dual perspective: that of the PAST, looking back to the history of archives, institutions, practices, and values, and that of the FUTURE, attempting to anticipate not only the problems that will need to be resolved, but also the contributions of future techniques and practices related to the cultures of memory and heritage.

An analysis of the context in which certain archives were created, as well as their evolution through the years, could help us foresee the future of our institutions and better imagine their development. For that reason, the symposium aims to encourage thoughtful proposals that attempt a transversal approach taking into account more than just the past or the future.

We hope that proposals for this symposium will, in this perspective, also be attentive to the diversity of film archives, for example at the institutional level (archives created in connection to film clubs and now confronting their disappearance; within universities; at the impetus of governments; etc.) or geographically (have digital technologies encouraged the emergence of new archives linked to a particular place or group; have they created problems related to the reconfiguration of archives that lack sufficient resources, or that have singular formats or corpuses to manage).

Finally, contributions should address what characterizes the missions of archives, as they were defined during the photochemical era and as they are evolving in the digital age.

Following are few examples of possible themes - among many others:
  • The different origins of archives (private, municipal, state, etc.; autonomous structure or part of a larger one - museum, library, national archives, national film center, etc.), and the impact of those differences on the development and nature of the missions of film archives.
  • Establishing archives from the past to the future, in particular questions relating to the voluntary deposits that formed the basis of many archives and that are tending to disappear in the digital age, as well as the evolution of legal and contractual deposits.
  • The enhancement of collections, the programming and distribution of heritage films within film archives: how have those activities evolved over the years, and new challenges in the internet and digital era.
  • The evolution of relations with rights holders, historical mistrust that has become mutual understanding, and, in the future, the risk of the blocking of use of collections by those same rights holders.
  • The history and perspectives of acquisitions policies for photochemical films and digital films: selection criteria and technical possibilities.
  • Constantly evolving conservation strategies: the evolution of knowledge and practices in the photochemical and digital domains.
  • Building databases: from the multiplicity of tools for describing collections accumulated over time to the desire to merge everything into a single tool held at one or several institutions.
  • The challenges of cataloguing with regard to digital objects: identification, localization, metadata, continual creation of new formats, connection to physical objects.
  • The evolution of documenting restoration processes.
  • The new technical possibilities for restoration and the questions they raise about restoration ethics.
  • Restoration and digitization: confusing the terminology and new identification difficulties for archivists.
  • Colliding generations, fields in transition: knowledge transfer and new practices.

PROPOSALS


Individual contributions should last from fifteen to twenty minutes (excluding questions). Please submit your proposal by summarizing the main arguments of your contribution (in approximately 150 words) and provide a short biography. Proposals must be presented in one of the three languages of the symposium and the FIAF (English, French, or Spanish).

This symposium is an opportunity for discussion and sharing. Therefore, proposals that go beyond mere presentation (of projects, for example) are strongly encouraged. During the submission and feedback period, symposium organizers and the expert committee may provide candidates with comments and suggestions in order to develop a symposium program that is both complex and compact. Some proposals may be recommended for other events during the congress, while others may be refused.

Proposals must be submitted to this address: [email protected]

TIMELINE

New proposal submission deadline: 15 december 2018
Response from organizers: 31 janvier 2018 / 31 January 2018

SYMPOSIUM ORGANIZATION

Cinémathèque suisse and Department of Film History and Aesthetics of the University of Lausanne (UNIL)

EXPERT COMMITTEE

Chicca Bergonzi, Head of Programming and Distribution, Cinémathèque suisse
Christophe Dupin, Senior Administrator, FIAF
Caroline Fournier, Head of the Film Department, Cinémathèque suisse
Haden Guest, Director, Harvard Film Archive
Laurent Le Forestier, Professor, University of Lausanne
Benoît Turquety, Professor, University of Lausanne
Jon Wengström, Head of Archival Film Collections, Svenska Filminstitutet

The Collaboration UNIL+Cinémathèque suisse

In Switzerland, the Canton of Vaud and the City of Lausanne host two institutions that are leaders in the development of research in film and film preservation: Cinémathèque suisse, on the one hand, and the University of Lausanne, with its Department of Film History and Aesthetics in the Faculty of Arts, on the other. Enjoying historical connections with Cinémathèque suisse, the University of Lausanne offers a full university program in film studies - the only such degree course in French-speaking Switzerland - from bachelor's to doctoral degrees. Since 2010, the relationship with Cinémathèque suisse has been considerably strengthened thanks to a partnership that provides both parties new strength and scope: the Collaboration UNIL+ Cinémathèque suisse.

The partnership between Cinémathèque suisse and UNIL, not just a matter of geographic proximity, owes much to Freddy Buache, who worked from the 1950s onward to encourage a scholarly approach to cinema, but also for closer relations with university education. In 1966, the introduction of film studies at UNIL - in the form of a class on the sociology of film taught by Professor Alphons Silbermann - was already based on an active collaboration with the nearby institution. In 1984, Freddy Buache developed a class in film history at the Cantonal School of Fine Arts - now the ECAL - then continued it at UNIL, and is still teaching it today, nearly 35 years after he created it! In 1990, the Department of Film History and Aesthetics was quite logically founded under the auspices of the Cinémathèque, with the creation of a chair attributed to Professor François Albera. The arrival of Henri Dumont at the head of the Cinémathèque in 1996 renewed that collaborative dynamic, leading to the publication in 2007 of two essential volumes co-directed with Professor Maria Tortajada, History of Swiss Cinema 1966-2000.

Building on the foundations established by his predecessors, soon after Frédéric Maire became Director of the Cinémathèque, he gave a decisive impetus to the collaboration between the two institutions by defining an ambitious and innovative partnership project with Maria Tortajada, with the support of the Rector of UNIL, Dominique Arlettaz. Launched in 2010, the partnership aims to provide both institutions the means required for the full development of their shared projects, promoting the archives of the Cinémathèque, and organizing joint activities as well as cultural mediation. The originality of the Collaboration is mainly due to the constant interaction between archivists and academics, posited from the outset as a condition of the partnership. By 2018, the Collaboration UNIL+Cinémathèque suisse had already given rise to seven research projects, five of which sought and obtained financial support from the Swiss National Science Foundation. The joint organization of the symposium "From the Past to the Future of Film Archives" (8 & 9 April 2019) is yet another important step in the development of the Collaboration.

www.unil-cinematheque.ch

Cinémathèque suisse
Casino de Montbenon
Allée Ernest-Ansermet 3
1002 Lausanne

Tél: +41 58 800 02 00
info(at)cinematheque.ch

subject
FIAF 2019
SYMPOSIUM

DU PASSE AU FUTUR DES ARCHIVES CINEMATOGRAPHIQUES
Appel à communications


Les archives cinématographiques sont aujourd’hui dans une phase de transition, liée notamment au recours au numérique à tous les niveaux de leur activité. La généralisation de nouveaux procédés de restauration des œuvres, de nouveaux modes de circulation, de mise en valeur, de catalogage, la gestion de ces nouveaux objets, ont d’importantes répercussions sur le travail des archivistes dans tous les domaines. Cette transformation est si importante qu’elle peut en venir à affecter la mission même ou la forme des archives de films.

Ce symposium propose de discuter ensemble des questions centrales posées par cette transition, en la replaçant dans une double perspective : celle du PASSÉ, renvoyant à l’histoire des archives, des institutions, des pratiques et des valeurs, et celle de l’AVENIR, afin d’essayer d’anticiper non seulement les problèmes à résoudre, mais aussi les apports des techniques et des pratiques futures rattachées aux cultures de la mémoire et du patrimoine.

L’analyse du contexte de création de certaines archives et de leur évolution au fil des ans peut nous aider à envisager le futur de nos institutions et à imaginer au mieux leur développement. Pour cette raison le symposium entend encourager les propositions de réflexion qui tentent une approche transversale qui ne prenne pas seulement en compte le passé ou le futur.

Nous souhaitons que les contributions proposées pour ce symposium soient aussi attentives, dans cette perspective, à la diversité des archives cinématographiques, par exemple au plan institutionnel (archives nées en lien avec des ciné-clubs et maintenant confrontées à la disparition de ceux-ci, au sein d’universités, sous l’impulsion de gouvernements, etc.) ou géographique (le numérique a pu favoriser l’émergence de nouvelles archives, liées à un lieu ou à un groupe particulier ; mais il a pu aussi engendrer des problèmes de reconfiguration pour des archives disposant de ressources insuffisantes ou confrontées à des supports et des corpus singuliers).

Enfin les contributions sont invitées à s’attacher à ce qui caractérise les missions des archives, telles qu’elles ont été définies à l’époque du photochimique et telles qu’elles évoluent à l’époque du numérique.

Nous détaillons ci-dessous quelques exemples – non exhaustifs – de thèmes possibles :
  • Les différentes origines des archives (statut privé, municipal, étatique, etc. ; institution autonome ou intégrée dans une autre structure - musée, bibliothèque, archive nationale, centre de cinéma national, etc.), et l’impact de ces différences sur le développement et la nature des missions.
  • La constitution des collections du passé au futur, notamment les questions liées aux dépôts volontaires qui ont constitué la base de nombreuses archives et qui tendent à disparaître avec le numérique, ainsi que l’évolution des dépôts légaux et contractuels.
  • La mise en valeur des collections, la programmation et diffusion du cinéma du patrimoine au sein des cinémathèques : comment ces activités ont évolué au fil des ans, et les nouveaux enjeux à l’heure d’internet et du numérique.
  • L’évolution des relations avec les ayants-droit, d’une méfiance historique devenue compréhension mutuelle, et, à l’avenir, d’un risque de blocage de l’utilisation des collections par ces mêmes ayants-droit.
  • L’histoire et perspectives des politiques d'acquisition de films photochimiques et de films numériques : critères de choix et possibilités techniques. 
  • Les stratégies de conservation en évolution permanente : évolution des savoirs et des pratiques dans les domaines photochimiques et numériques.
  • Les bases de données en chantier : de la multiplicité des outils de description des collections accumulés au fil du temps à la volonté de tout fusionner dans un même outil au sein d'une ou de plusieurs institutions. 
  • Les défis du catalogage face aux objets numériques : identification, localisation, métadonnées, création permanente de nouveaux formats, lien avec les objets physiques.
  • L’évolution de la documentation des processus de restauration.
  • Les nouvelles possibilités techniques de restauration et les questions qu'elles soulèvent quant à l'éthique de restauration.
  • La restauration et numérisation : confusion des terminologies et nouvelles difficultés d'identification pour les archivistes.
  • Le choc des générations. Des métiers en transition : transfert de connaissances et nouvelles pratiques. 

PROPOSITIONS


Les contributions individuelles doivent durer autour de 15/20 minutes (hors séance de questions). Merci de nous soumettre vos propositions en résumant les grandes lignes de votre contribution (en 150 mots environ) et d’adjoindre une courte biographie.

Les propositions peuvent être présentées dans une des trois langues du symposium et de la FIAF (anglais, français ou espagnol).

Le symposium doit être l’occasion de discussions et de partage. Par conséquent, les propositions allant au-delà de la simple présentation sont fortement encouragées. Pendant la phase d’examen et de retours, les organisateurs du symposium et son comité d’experts pourront livrer leurs commentaires et suggestions aux candidats afin de mettre au point un programme de symposium à la fois complexe et compact. Certaines propositions pourront se voir recommandées à d’autres événements du congrès et d’autres devront être refusées.

Les propositions doivent être envoyées à cette adresse : [email protected]

CALENDRIER

Nouveau délai de réception des propositions: 15 décembre 2018
Réponse des organisateurs : 31 janvier 2019

ORGANISATION DU SYMPOSIUM

Cinémathèque suisse et Section d’histoire et esthétique du cinéma de l’Université de Lausanne (UNIL)

COMITÉ D’EXPERTS

Chicca Bergonzi, Cheffe du département Programmation et diffusion de la Cinémathèque suisse
Christophe Dupin, Administrateur délégué de la FIAF
Caroline Fournier, Cheffe du département Film de la Cinémathèque suisse
Haden Guest, Directeur du Harvard Film Archive
Laurent Le Forestier, Professeur, Université de Lausanne
Benoît Turquety, Professeur, Université de Lausanne
Jon Wengström, Chef des Collections film du Svenska Filminstitutet

La Collaboration UNIL+Cinémathèque suisse


En Suisse, le Canton de Vaud et la Ville de Lausanne accueillent deux institutions de premier plan pour le développement de la recherche en cinéma et la conservation des films : la Cinémathèque suisse, d’une part, et l’Université de Lausanne, d’autre part, avec en son sein la Section d’histoire et esthétique du cinéma de la Faculté des lettres. Bénéficiant de liens historiques avec la Cinémathèque suisse, l’Université de Lausanne propose une formation universitaire en études cinématographiques – la seule en Suisse romande – couvrant l’ensemble des études supérieures, depuis le baccalauréat jusqu’au doctorat. Depuis 2010, les relations avec la Cinémathèque sont considérablement renforcées grâce à un partenariat qui leur donne une force et une ampleur nouvelles, la Collaboration UNIL+Cinémathèque suisse.

Outre la proximité géographique des institutions, le partenariat entre la Cinémathèque suisse et l’UNIL doit beaucoup à Freddy Buache, qui a œuvré dès les années 1950 en faveur d’une approche érudite du cinéma, mais également pour un rapprochement avec le milieu de l’enseignement universitaire. En 1966, l’introduction officielle du cinéma à l’UNIL, sous la forme d’un cours de sociologie du film dispensé par le professeur Alphons Silbermann, s’appuie déjà sur une collaboration active avec l’institution voisine. En 1984, F. Buache crée un cours d’histoire du cinéma à l’École cantonale des beaux-arts – l’actuelle ECAL –, puis le poursuit à l’UNIL et continue de l’enseigner aujourd’hui, bientôt 35 ans après sa création ! En 1990, la Section d’histoire et esthétique du cinéma est donc logiquement fondée sous les auspices de la Cinémathèque, avec l’ouverture d’une chaire attribuée au professeur François Albera. L’arrivée d’Hervé Dumont à la direction de la Cinémathèque en 1996 prolonge cette dynamique collaborative, aboutissant à la publication en 2007 de deux ouvrages essentiels codirigés avec la professeure Maria Tortajada, Histoire du cinéma suisse 1966-2000 (2 tomes).

Sur les bases établies par ses prédécesseurs, Frédéric Maire donne, peu de temps après son arrivée à la direction de la Cinémathèque, un élan décisif à la collaboration entre les deux institutions, en définissant avec M. Tortajada un projet de partenariat ambitieux et novateur, soutenu par le Recteur de l’UNIL Dominique Arlettaz. Lancé en 2010, ce partenariat vise à doter les deux institutions des moyens nécessaires au plein développement de projets communs, allant dans le sens de la valorisation des archives de la Cinémathèque, de l’organisation d’activités conjointes et de la médiation culturelle. L’originalité de la Collaboration tient surtout à l’interaction constante entre archivistes et universitaires, posée d’emblée comme condition du partenariat. En 2018, la Collaboration UNIL+Cinémathèque suisse affiche ainsi un premier bilan de 7 projets de recherche, dont 5 ont sollicité et obtenu le soutien financier du Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique. L’organisation conjointe du symposium « Du passé au futur des archives cinématographiques » (8-9 avril 2019) constitue une étape importante dans le développement de la Collaboration.

www.unil-cinematheque.ch

Cinémathèque suisse
Casino de Montbenon
Allée Ernest-Ansermet 3
1002 Lausanne

Tél: +41 58 800 02 00
info(at)cinematheque.ch